Judge of the Circuit Court
david b. connell photo
David B.


Occupation: Benton County Circuit Court Judge

Occupational Background: Judge Connell was appointed by Governor Kulongoski to succeed retired Circuit Court Judge Henry Dickerson after an intensive process by local citizens and state officials to identify and recommend to the governor the best candidate. Four lawyers sought this appointment. Two of those lawyers, Daniel Armstrong and Vance Croney, support Judge Connell in this election. Judge Connell practiced law in Benton County for 30 years dealing with domestic relations, criminal defense, business and real estate law, estate planning, and civil litigation. Judge Connell served as an arbitrator for Benton and Linn Counties, was an attorney for Linn/Benton Legal Aide, and legal advisor to the Associated Students of Oregon State University.

Educational Background: Willamette University College of Law, J.D.; Washington State University, B.A.

Prior Governmental Experience: Benton County Circuit Court Judge; Commissioner, Corvallis Planning Commission; Benton County Alcohol, Drug, and Mental Health Committee.

Community Service:
Original Board Member, 1979, for Benton Hospice serving 18 years; Rotary Club since 1990.

Judge Connell and his wife, Jan, reside in Corvallis.

Judge Connell is a highly respected, intelligent, fair-minded jurist. His 30 years of legal experience and firm, even-handed, respectful judicial style serve him well in rendering fair and impartial decisions. He recognizes the importance of every individual who appears in Court being heard in a fair and respectful forum.

We need to keep Judge Connell on the Benton County Circuit Court! -Governor Ted Kulongoski; Hardy Myers, Attorney General; Frank Morse, State Senator; Kelley Wirth, State Representative; Scott Heiser, Benton District Attorney; Jim Swinyard, Benton County Sheriff; Benton County Commissioners Jay Dixon, Annabelle Jaramillo, Linda Modrell; Barbara Ross, Helen Berg, Frank Knight, Senior Circuit Court Judge; Kenneth Osher, Circuit Court Judge pro tem; John Acres, Peter Barnhisel, Merry Demarest, James Eickelberg, S. David Eves, Richard Hein, Joanne Kersey, David Kliewer, Ronald Marek, Lucy Noone, Jeanne Smith, Clark Willes, R. Tim Willis.

Vote to retain Judge Connell.

(This information furnished by Committee to Retain Judge David B. Connell.)